Frau am Fenster VII

Matisse and his wife met for what proved to be the last time, ostensibly to discuss details of their legal separation, in July 1939. The meeting took place in Paris at the Gare St. Lazare and lasted thirty minutes, during which Amélie Matisse kept up a flow of small talk while her husband stared at her in silence, frozen in the pose painted three decades earlier in The Conversation. “My wife never looked at me, but I didn’t take my eyes off her…,” Matisse wrote on the night of that final encounter: “I couldn’t get a word out…. I remained as if carved out of wood, swearing never to be caught that way again.”

Hilary Spurling, „Matisse’s Pajamas“

7 Gedanken zu “Frau am Fenster VII

  1. Deine heutigen Bilder passen ein wenig zu meiner nächsten Hausarbeit: Interieur der frühen Neuzeit und ich beschäftige mich mit dem Vergleich von Velazquez und Picassos Las Meninas …. Danke für deine Inspiration!

    1. Ach, das ist ein schönes Thema! Im Bild von Caillebotte gefällt mir unter anderem auch der Kontrast zwischen Spitzengardine und dem Schriftzug an der gegenüberliegenden Hauswand, der fast wie eine moderne Leuchtreklame wirkt… ich rätsele noch, was er bedeuten könnte.

  2. Irgendwo gab es mal einen Printartikel über C., darin kam auch dieses Bild vor. Den finde ich allerdings nicht mehr. Was bleibt: Eine vage Erinnerung – der Rest ist Suchmaschine.
    Schönes Wochenende!

Kommentar verfassen

