A Woman’s Bed

A Woman’s Bed, Logan, Ohio 1970, from the series Iowa, by Nancy Rexroth, made with a Diana camera.
Nancy Rexroth, „A Woman’s Bed“ (Logan/Ohio 1970, from the Series „Iowa“)

I remember how my grandparents’ bedroom seemed to conceal something.  The door was closed; you never went in.  When the door stood open by accident the bed was always made, smooth and immaculate.  Large but somehow not large enough. That seemed wrong to think about.  Things were folded, tucked away.  Nothing had happened during the night, and the daylight entering from a side window, seemed to sanctify a kind of order.  But the whiteness of the spread – I couldn’t take my eyes off it.  It seemed to rise like a mountain and spread out like a desert. What if you did lie down there, fall into that whiteness?  Would you feel someone next to you, someone impossibly old?  If they did touch you, would the room suddenly darken?  Would you ever be able to get up again?  Would you be dead?  As a child, I had fevers.  I often lay in a white bed dreaming I could fly.

Lyle Rexer

6 Gedanken zu “A Woman’s Bed

  1. There is a special „whiteness“, that feels like a kind of death, that touches everything. When I was a Child, i was often ill too and than… 😉 I dreamed away, as well.

    I hope my „German English“ is to be understood.

    1. Dann will ich mal in „German German“ antworten..;-) – Oh, ja, ich war auch oft krank, so habe ich mich durch sämtliche Märchen gelesen und auch viel geträumt… hier berührt mich am meisten die Zeile: „Would you feel someone next to you, someone impossibly old?“

      1. Herzlichen Dank!

        … In manchen Kulturen ist die Farbe „Weiss“ die Farbe des Todes.

        In diesem Beitrag haben mich sowohl der Text, wie auch das Bild angesprochen.

        Manche Texte „erfühle“ ich eher; es ist ein anderes Verstehen.

        Und Sprache ist nicht gleich Sprache.

        – Vor einigen Jahren kaufte ich mir das Buch „Nils Holgerssons Abenteuer“ in einer neueren Übersetzung und war enttäuscht. – Das war nicht die Geschichte, die ich kannte…

        Und sehr vieles ist einfach unübersetzbar.
        Das merke ich schon sehr deutlich bei „Hochdeutsch“ und „Kölsch“.

        Ein „Naserines“ läßt sich nicht mit „Vorwitznase“ übersetzen; der Dialektbegriff ist da ungleich reicher.

        Als Kind war ich phasenweise sehr krank mit hohem Fieber und hatte Fieberphantasien… „Dieses Weiss“ …
        Und dann gab es auf dem Gutshof von dem meine Mutter stammte, „das Elternschlafzimmer“ in dem ich mitunter übernachtete. Wieder dieses „Weiss“ und ganz dichte Fensterläden und Vorhänge, die ein Dunkel erzeugten, das „generationenschwer“ war.
        In etwa dieser Mischung habe ich den Text erlebt.
        Ja, die von Dir zitierte Zeile fasst es gut.
        Liebe Grüße,
        Frank

Kommentar verfassen

